The University of North Carolina System is governed by the Board of Governors, which, under Chapter 116 of the North Carolina General Statutes, has responsibility for the planning, development, and overall governance of the UNC System. The Board elects the president of the UNC System.

Board Membership

The Board of Governors has 24 voting members, elected by the Senate and House of Representatives of the North Carolina General Assembly, to staggered four-year terms. Additionally, the president of the UNC Association of Student Governments serves as a nonvoting, ex officio member of the Board. No person may be elected to more than three full four-year terms.

Board Officers

The Board of Governors elects a chair, vice chair, and secretary from among its voting membership for two-year terms beginning on July 1 of even-numbered years. The current officers are:


The General Assembly of 1971 created the current governing structure of the University of North Carolina System, including the restructuring of the former Board of Trustees into the present Board of Governors. Since that time, it has been led by 18 chairs, and the System has grown to include 17 constituent institutions and various associated entities.

The Board of Governors maintains The Code and the UNC Policy ManualThe Code incorporates the requirements of the constitution and General Statutes, as well as Board bylaws and other high-level policies. The UNC Policy Manual provides more specific direction and policies on university matters.