The national organization representing all U.S. and Canadian dental schools announced last week that a 2019 award for innovation will go to the School of Dental Medicine at East Carolina University. It is the first national honor to recognize the university for its breakthrough approach to providing practical experience for future dentists through rural service-learning centers across North Carolina.

The American Dental Education Association’s (ADEA) ADEAGies Foundation® said the ECU dental school is a recipient of the William J. Gies Award for Vision, Innovation and Achievement, in the Innovation category. The mission of the foundation, which is the philanthropic arm of the ADEA, is to enhance oral health through transformational advances in dental education, research, leadership and recognition.

The annual Gies Award honors individuals and organizations who exemplify the highest standards in oral health and dental education, research and leadership.

Read More


Originally published Oct. 29, 2018.