UNCSA has awarded two new endowed professorships in piano – the Clifton Matthews Distinguished Professorship to Dmitri Shteinberg and the Eric Larsen Distinguished Professorship to Dmitri Vorobiev – that will help to ensure that top faculty members continue to thrive in the School of Music.

The professorships — both named for retired piano faculty — were created through anonymous gifts of $500,000 each. The first gift was matched, dollar for dollar, by the UNC System Distinguished Professors Endowment Trust Fund and the second gift is in the application process for matching. These gifts create significant endowments capable of funding the professorships in perpetuity.

The endowments honor the contributions of emeritus professors whose decades of service had a profound impact on the School of Music.

Read More


Originally published Oct. 10, 2019.