Tagged with:
Press Release

CHAPEL HILL, NC – The University of North Carolina Board of Governors has selected outstanding University faculty members to receive the 2018 Awards for Excellence in Teaching. The 17 recipients, who represent all 16 of North Carolina’s public universities as well as the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, were nominated by special committees based on their home campuses and were selected by the Board of Governors’ Committee on Personnel and Tenure.

“These instructors we recognized bring innovative and creative teaching methods and approaches which make a real difference in how students learn,” said UNC Board of Governors Chair Lou Bissette. “We’re proud to highlight their accomplishments in the classroom to further showcase the high-quality education students are receiving throughout the UNC System.”

Each of the winners will receive a commemorative bronze medallion and a $12,500 cash prize. Awards will be presented by a Board of Governors member during each campus’ spring graduation ceremony.

The 2018 winners are:

  • Joseph J. Gonzalez, associate professor, Department of Cultural, Gender and Global Studies, Appalachian State University;                
  • Jami Rhodes, associate professor, School of Music, East Carolina University;
  • Margery M. Coulson-Clark, professor, Social and Behavioral Sciences, Elizabeth City State University;
  • Stacye A. Blount, associate professor, Department of Sociology, Fayetteville State University;
  • Radiah C. Minor, associate professor, Animal Sciences, North Carolina A&T State University;
  • Donna M. Grant, associate professor, Computer Information Systems, North Carolina Central University;
  • Melissa A. Pasquinelli, professor of fiber and polymer science and textile engineering, Department of Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science, North Carolina State University;
  • Bert E. Holmes, professor of chemistry, Chemistry, University of North Carolina at Asheville;
  • Jason Metcalfe, professor, Mathematics, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill;
  • Michele Bissiere, professor of French, Department of Language and Cultural Studies, University of North Carolina at Charlotte;       
  • Mike Perko, professor, Public Health Education, University of North Carolina at Greensboro;
  • Holden Hansen, professor of theatre, Department of English, Theatre and Foreign Languages, University of North Carolina at Pembroke;
  • Susan M. Sinclair, professor, College of Health and Human Services/School of Nursing, University of North Carolina Wilmington;
  • Howard C. Jones, assistant professor, Design and Production, University of North Carolina School of the Arts;
  • Laura Wright, professor, English, Western Carolina University;     
  • Cynthia S. Bell, associate professor, Occupational Therapy, Winston-Salem State University;
  • Amy L. Sheck, instructor of biology, Biology, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics

Read more information about all 17 award recipients, including biographies and photos.