The University of North Carolina at Pembroke has formed a new College of Health Sciences as part of its commitment to meet the health care needs of rural southeastern North Carolina.

The College of Health Sciences will initially consist of four pre-existing departments – counseling, health and human performance, nursing and social work – with approximately 100 faculty and 1,400 students.

University officials describe the new college as “historic” making it the university’s sixth college and first since 1999. The College of Health Sciences joins the College of Arts and Sciences, School of Business, School of Education, Maynor Honors College and The Graduate School.

The announcement is another milestone in the university’s 131-year history and comes as the university prepares for its first semester participating in the North Carolina Promise Tuition Plan. NC Promise offers in-state undergraduate students tuition of $500 per semester, an annual savings of more than $2500.

Read More


Originally published August 12, 2018.