The University’s mission includes the transmission and advancement of knowledge and understanding, the pursuit of which is dependent upon the ability of our faculty and students to remain free to inquire, to study and to evaluate, to gain new maturity and understanding. The University supports and encourages freedom of inquiry for faculty members and students, to the end that they may responsibly pursue these goals through teaching, learning, research, discussion, and publication, free from internal or external restraints that would unreasonably restrict their academic endeavors. The University has explicitly stated that faculty and students of the University share the responsibility for maintaining an environment in which academic freedom flourishes and in which the rights of each member of the academic community are respected. Academic freedom has indeed been acknowledged by the Supreme Court as “of transcendent value to all of us” and “a special concern of the First Amendment, which does not tolerate laws that cast a pall of orthodoxy over the classroom.”

Pursuant to the Restore/Preserve Campus Free Speech Act, the chair of the Board of Governors has designated the Board’s Committee on University Governance as the statutorily mandated Committee on Free Expression.


2018-19_report_on_free_speech_and_free_expression_within_the_university (approved on September 19, 2019)

2017-18 Report on Free Speech and Free Expression Within the University (approved on September 12, 2018)

UNC Policy 1300.8 (Free Speech and Free Expression Within the University of North Carolina)

Chapter 600 of The Code (Freedom and Responsibility in the University Community)

Restore/Preserve Campus Free Speech Act (G.S. 116-300)

Article I, Section 14 of the North Carolina Constitution, Freedom of speech and press.  Freedom of speech and of the press are two of the great bulwarks of liberty and therefore shall never be restrained, but every person shall be held responsible for their abuse.

Responsible Officers Across the UNC System

Each UNC constituent institution must identify officer(s) and/or offices or departments with responsibilities for ensuring compliance with the law and UNC policy, and for answering any related questions or concerns from students, faculty members, staff employees, or others.

APP STATEJeff CatheyInterim Assistant Vice Chancellor for Student
APP STATEJacqui BergmanVice Provost for Faculty
ECUPaul ZigasInterim University Counsel and Vice Chancellor for Legal
ECSUAlyn GoodsonGeneral
ECSUTiffany HintonDirector of Community
FSUWanda JenkinsGeneral
FSUAngel PowellAssistant General
FSURegina RudisillDirector of Student
N.C. A&TMelissa Jackson HollowayGeneral
NCCUJoy HartfieldDirector of Student Conduct and Community
NC STATEWarwick ArdenExecutive Vice Chancellor and or
NC STATEBrent McConkeyAssistant General
NC STATELisa ZapataSenior Associate Vice
UNCAClifton WilliamsUniversity
UNC-CHJean EliaAssociate
UNC-CHBecci MenghiniSenior Associate Vice Chancellor, Equal Opportunity/
UNC-CHJonathan SaulsDean of
UNC-CHKim Strom-GottfriedDirector, Ethics Education and Policy Management, and
Smith P. Theimann Distinguished Professor, School of Social Work
UNCCJesh HumphreyVice Chancellor for Institutional Integrity and General
UNCCSamantha SearsDeputy General
UNCGAlan BoyetteSenior Vice
UNCPR. Travis BryantAssoc. VC for Campus Safety and Emergency
UNCSADavid HarrisonGeneral
UNCSAWard CaldwellVice Provost & Dean of Student
UNCWJohn SchererGeneral
WCUShea BrowningGeneral
WSSUCornelius GravesDirector of Government & Community
UNC SYSTEMJohn J. DoughertyAssistant General

Information current as of September 21, 2018.