Tagged with:
Press Release


CHAPEL HILL, NC – The North Carolina Teaching Fellows Commission has selected 114 individuals for the 2020 class of North Carolina Teaching Fellows. The commission received nearly 200 applications. The commission used GPA, standardized test scores, leadership and experience, and written essays to narrow this pool of applicants down to roughly 140 finalists. The commission determined the list of  Fellows after conducting interviews with each finalist, which were held at four different locations around the state or by phone.

Those named as Fellows may attend any of the program’s five partner institutions: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, North Carolina State University, Elon University or Meredith College.

“The NC Teaching Fellows program is a vital program that recruits and supports our state’s best and brightest, encouraging them to pursue fulfilling careers in our schools,” said UNC System Interim President Bill Roper. “I congratulate each Fellow on their achievement. Their success is also our state’s success, because their talent and dedication will help increase student success in North Carolina’s K-12 classrooms and contribute to a promising future.”

The following individuals have been named as 2020 Teaching Fellows:

NameCity (In NC unless otherwise noted)
Sophie AdgateWake Forest
Robyn AllawayCary
Gayatri AluriMatthews
Adrian AntonescuMorrisville
Luis AvilesFayetteville
Halee BakerMonroe
Eric BaptistCharlotte
Clay BeasleyPrinceton
Nicola BridgesForest City
Breanna BrummettWake Forest
Abby CashBurlington
Melissa CavagniniAsheville
Emma ChapmanApex
John ChurchYoungsville
MacKenna CliftonSalisbury
Elizabeth CohenReisterstown, Maryland
Caroline CongletonAyden
Lauren CoxEden
Ashleigh CutrellFayetteville
Austin Denning FourOaks
Nick DoyleFuquay-Varina
Madeline DuchesneHendersonville
Kylie DunbarAyden
Maddie DwyerRaleigh
Ijeoma EkeRaleigh
Sarah ElamCary
Sandrika FreemanWindsor
Ashley FryeWilmington
Savannah GarbarkMint Hill
Brooke GradyKinston
Abby GribbleConcord
Avery HarperDeep Run
Lashonda HarrisKnightdale
Rachel HarshmanHickory
Jordan HasenfusCary
Abby HaydonMatthews
Sarah HendersonLexington
Isabelle HerzogOgden, Utah
Rolanda HinesRoxboro
Ashley HinsonGreenville
Samantha HolmesGarner
Cheyenne HoppesMarshall
Laina HoseyRaleigh
Hannah HoukMorganton
Marissa HunterWaynesville
Celeste HuntingtonCarrboro
Hannah HuntsingerHickory
John JacksonEtowah
Hannah Grace JacobDurham
Ashton JonesGreenville
George KatsoulisGreenville
Macie KornMaiden
Heidy Labra-FrancoWarrenton
Rod LassterConcord
Emerson LawrenceEmerald Isle
Eujin LeeCary
Jack MaggioCary
Neely MarieeFuquay-Varina
Alexander MarlerBenson
Madi Joy MarloweDeep Gap
Curtis McGeheeReidsville
Lonnie McRavinWadesboro
Kate MearesRaleigh
Casey MentchHendersonville
Grace MilkesWilmington
Abram MunizOakboro
Madison NealLexington
Trevor NewportGraham
Kennedy OdomPikeville
Jada PageDavidson
Chandler ParrishLouisburg
Demaree PerssonApex
Matthew ReepNewland
Zoe ReinLakewood, Colorado
Alliyah RichMidland
Tesla RiderDanbury
Sean RyanGarner
Giovanni SamuelsCharlotte
Grace SaundersConcord
Emily SchofieldApex
Sarah ShiflettApex
Leia SimmonsLincolnton
Celia SkulnikSilver Spring, Maryland
Dan SobkowiakKannapolis
Emily SouthardRaleigh
Sarah SpartzSanford
Lindsey StechschulteColumbus
Madigan StevensonWake Forest
Jackie StoehrCharlotte
Sarah StollNewport
Amanda StoneMonroe
Kathryn StreahlePinehurst
Parker SuttonCary
Cameron TenpennyArden
Bailie TewGoldsboro
Alexa TomlinsonHampstead
Liset Trejo RuizSnow Hill
Ana TreschlEfland
Maddie TuckerConcord
Sydney TumeyHaw River
Kaila UmsteadHigh Point
Kathryn VandergriftMatthews
Abigail WallKannapolis
Camille WaltersCharlotte
Hannah WashburnOakboro
Shelby WatsonBoone
Tori WeissAsheboro
Brantley WigginsPikeville
Amaya WilkinsHigh Point
Faelynn WilliamsEdenton
Emily WillisAsheville
TraVaye Worrell, Sr.Raleigh
Lara WrightWanchese

The mission of the North Carolina Teaching Fellows Program is to recruit, prepare, and support the state’s most promising students to attend North Carolina’s top education programs. Fellows will receive up to $4,125 per semester in forgivable loans if they commit to teach in a STEM or a special education area. The program is specifically designed to attract high-quality teachers to low-performing schools by offering an accelerated loan forgiveness schedule for Teaching Fellows who agree to teach in a low-performing school in North Carolina.

The Commission is comprised of four deans from educator preparation programs, teachers, principals, a member from business and industry and a local school board member. The NC Teacher of the Year, Principal of the Year, Superintendent of the Year, Chair of the State Education Assistance Authority (SEAA) Board of Directors and Director of the Teaching Fellows Program all serve as ex-officio members of the Commission.

North Carolina Teaching Fellows Program Highlights:

  • The application for prospective Teaching Fellows will be made available in early October.
  • The amount of the forgivable loan is up to $4,125 per semester.
  • Any student with a high school, associate’s or bachelor’s degree is eligible. Even students who wish to transfer or change their majors are eligible.
  • In order to qualify for loan forgiveness, Fellows are required to serve one year in a low-performing school or two years in another public school for every year they were awarded a loan. Fellows who leave the profession have 10 years to pay back the loan.