The UNC Faculty Assembly

The UNC Faculty Assembly was established in 1972 at the request of then UNC President William Friday. The assembly is an advisory body on System-wide issues, serving the president, the UNC System Office, the Board of Governors, the NC General Assembly, and campus faculty and administrative bodies.

In addition to formulating advice and counsel on System issues, Faculty Assembly members frequently serve on working groups, policy committees, and personnel committees of the UNC System Office. The assembly also nominates members of the general faculty to serve on System initiatives as required.

The chair of the Faculty Assembly and, when in place, the chair elect, attend all Board of Governors public meetings and serve ex-officio on the Board of Governors Personnel and Tenure Committee, Education Policy and Planning Committee, and on the UNC System Office’s Chief Academic Officers (Provosts’) Council.


The Faculty Assembly meets at least five times, and typically six or more times, each academic year.

Board of Governors MeetingsFaculty Assembly Meetings
September 16-17, 2020September 11, 2020
October 21-22, 2020October 2, 2020
November 18-19, 2020

December 17, 2020
November 13, 2020
January 20-21, 2021January 15, 2021
February 17-18, 2021February 12, 2021
April 21-22, 2021April 16, 2021

Please Note: All UNC Faculty Assembly meetings are held at the UNC System Office, Spangler Building, Board Room. The meetings commence at 8:00AM sharp.

Faculty Assembly Chairs

The following faculty members have served as Assembly chairs:

1973-1974Henry C. CookeNC State
1974-1976Henry C. FerrellECU
1976-1977Vincent M. FooteNC State
1977-1979 (Jan.)1Roy CarrollAppalachian
Feb. – June 1979Helen M. CaldwellECSU
1979-1981Shirley C. BrowningUNCA
1981-1984Alan J. HauserAppalachian
1984-1986James LeRoy SmithECU
 1986-1987 (May)2Betty Jo WelchUNCW
1987-1988Meada GibbN.C. A&T
1988-1990Fred HinsonWCU
1990-1991Kathleen KowalUNCW
1991-1993Ken WilsonECU
1993-1995William KaneWCU
1995-1997Peter PetschauerAppalachian
1997-1999Laura GasawayUNC-Chapel Hill
1999-2001Keith HowellUNCG
2001-2003Richard VeitUNCW
2003-2005Jeff PasseUNC Charlotte
2005-2008Brenda KillingsworthECU
2008-2010Judith WegnerUNC-Chapel Hill
2010-2012Sandie GravetAppalachian
2012-2014Catherine RigsbyECU
2014-2016Steve LeonardUNC-Chapel Hill
2016-2018Gabriel LugoUNCW
2018-2020David GreenNCCU
2020-2021Tim Ives, MDUNC-Chapel Hill
  1. Roy Carroll’s term ended when he was appointed Vice President for Planning at the UNC System Office.
  2. Betty Jo Welch died in office.