Tuition and Fees

N.C.G.S. 116-143 requires the Board of Governors to set the tuition and fee rates at the constituent institutions of the UNC System, consistent with the actions of the General Assembly.  

The 2016 General Assembly enacted the Fixed Tuition Program. This program guarantees that first-time full-time resident undergraduates and new transfer students who remain continuously enrolled will see no tuition increases for eight consecutive semesters. Tuition rates for transfer students are fixed for the equivalent number of remaining semesters. The new resident undergraduate tuition rates for 2020-21 will only apply to the cohort of students who enrolled in the fall of 2020. Mandatory student fee increases (including debt service fees) are also capped at three percent per year.

The 2016 General Assembly also created the NC Promise Tuition Plan, benefitting students enrolled at three institutions. Resident undergraduate students at Elizabeth City State University, UNC Pembroke, and Western Carolina University pay a tuition rate of $500 per academic semester. Nonresident undergraduate students pay a tuition rate of $2,500 per academic semester.


2020-21 Undergraduate Tuition and Fees 
(Approved on May 20, 2020)


2020-21 Graduate Tuition and Fees
(Approved on May 20, 2020)